Several nearby Florida counties are reporting stabilized or decreased unemployment rates. Unemployed workers and recruiters are beginning to see an increase in available jobs. The Ocala Star Banner reported that “unemployment rates dropped 13.2 percent in Marion County”. The article also noted that Marion County had a lower unemployment rate than Hernando and Hendry counties as of February.

Specifically, growth appears to be in hospitality, transportation, education, and health care industries while the job market is not recovering as quickly in the construction and financial fields. Depending on their former positions with other companies, many employees may have non-compete clauses that have not yet lapsed.

When hiring new employees, employers need to ask candidates about any existing non-compete clauses and be aware of the ramifications of violating a non-compete clause. Violation of a non-compete clause can result in expensive litigation. In addition to the lower employment rate, the pool of available employees is decreasing. Experts are unsure whether this is due to relocations or other reasons. Some companies may wish to protect their interests by creating their own non-compete contracts for new employees to sign.

The Law Office of Knellinger & Associates has years of experience drafting, analyzing, litigating, and defending non-compete and confidentiality clauses and agreements. If you are thinking about creating a non-compete agreement or need help with an existing one, please contact our office.

About Richard Knellinger

The Law Office of Knellinger, Jacobson & Associates provides legal advice and representation for individuals, entrepreneurs, and business owners in Gainesville, Florida, and communities throughout north central Florida, including cities such as Ocala, Starke, Palatka, Lake City, Middleburg, Trenton, Bronson, Lake Butler, Cross City, Williston, Chiefland, Alachua, Jasper, Live Oak, and Jacksonville, Florida.

Alachua County ● Putnam County ● Clay County ● Bradford County ● Union County ● Columbia County ● Gilchrist County ● Levy County ● Marion County ● Hamilton County ● St. Johns County ● Dixie County